Parish Council 01344 874268


Close this search box.

Recent Chairmen

Robert Morgan is the current Chairman of Sunningdale Parish Council.

Robert was elected to the Council in July 2023 and elected as Chaiman in May 2024.

Robert has lived in Sunningdale since 1986, his children were educated locally and his grandchildren are now regular visitors to Broomhall Recreation Ground.

With a background of senior roles in Telecommunications & IT, Robert is used to managing a wide range of issues and views and collaborating with others to get projects delivered.

Prior to his election as Chaiman, Robert was Deputy Chair of the Finance Committee. Since joining the Council he has driven a fresh approach to community engagement.

Peter Grover (2023-2024)

Peter joined the council in 2021 and following the elections on 4th May 2023 was been elected as Chairman of Sunningdale Parish Council.

He has lived in Sunningdale village for almost 15 years, has three children at Charters and Holy Trinity School where he also sits on the Governing Board as Chair of the Standards, Achievements and Curriculum Committee. 

With a background in the Travel Industry and associated IT services related to Corporate travel. He has held leadership roles in some of the biggest names in the Industry.

Peter has been actively involved in the Village Hall Committee and ensuring council facilities are of the highest standards.

Anne-Catherine Buxton (2015-2023)

Joined the Council in 2014 and successfully delivered a number of key projects in her first year. Elected as chairman in May 2015 she has continued to encourage community engagement within the parish and is the chair of the well supported and attended Christmas Lights event held annually in Sunningdale.

With a background and considerable experience in running charity operations and organising committees, Anne-Catherine has led council in actively engaging the Borough Council to ensure the services received by residents are of the highest standard.

Christine Gadd (2007-2015) succeeded John Webb in early 2007. She was an energetic chairman, known to almost everyone in the community, as she rushed about on her bicycle, engaging with every aspect of village life. Among Christine’s achievements were: the initiation of the popular Christmas event; the Jubilee Music Festival in the Park, which was attended by H.R.H the Earl and Countess of Wessex; the commissioning of the stone bench as a lasting Diamond Jubilee memorial; and the successful Book Exchange in the Phone Box on the Chobham Road.

John Webb (1997-1999 and 2001-2006) was heavily involved in local affairs right up to the time of his sudden death on Christmas Day, 2006. He was a borough councillor for many years, starting in 1982. He became Mayor of the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead in 2000/2001 and Deputy Mayor in the following year. John had been an Olympic oarsman in his younger days and he was involved (on the RBWM side) in helping to set up Dorney Lake as a rowing venue. He became a parish councillor in 1991, and he had two spells as chairman – 1997-1999 and 2001-2006. Kate, John’s wife,  was herself a parish councillor for 28 years, going back to 1987. She was the Lady Mayoress of RBWM in 2000/2001.

Joan Brightwell (1999-2001) was an active allotment holder who became a parish councillor in 1992. It seemed natural that part of her initial council duties was to be responsible for the allotments, where one of her achievements was to improve the drainage on the site. Joan was active on virtually all the committees during her time on the council. She was responsible for setting up Sunningdale in Bloom, for which Sunningdale won a regional award in the first year that it entered the national competition. After a short period as vice-chairman, she became chairman, filling the role from 1999 to 2001. Joan subsequently continued as a parish councillor until 2004.

Norman Davis (1995-1997) was a local businessman who became a councillor in 1987. He saw service in most aspects of council life, and after a spell as vice-chairman he was eventually chairman from 1995 to 1997.

Skip to content